Digital Access

Digital Access
Access and all Shaw Local content from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

News, features, sports, opinion and more!

Email Newsletters

Sign up for MyWebTimes email newsletters and stay in the know.

La Salle County coronavirus update: 37 new positive COVID-19 tests, 10 additional recoveries

Of 36,062 tests, 5.93% have come back positive

Vehicles line up for COVID-19 testing at the Mendota Civic Center earlier this year.
Vehicles line up for COVID-19 testing at the Mendota Civic Center earlier this year.

As a public service, Morris Hospital & Shaw Media have partnered to provide open access to information related to the COVID-19 (Coronavirus) emergency. Sign up for the newsletter here

Thirty-seven new positive tests, two transfers of cases to other counties and 10 recoveries from COVID-19 brought the number of known, current cases of the novel coronavirus to 541 per the La Salle County Health Department's Saturday report.

Ten new recoveries brought that running total in La Salle County to 1,539. The 37 new confirmed cases — a woman in her 90s, a woman and a man in their 80s, two men in their 70s, two men in their 60s, three women and three men in their 50s, three women and two men in their 40s, one woman and five men in their 30s, two women and a man in their 20s, six girls and one boy in their teens, and two girls and one boy under the age of 13 — raised that running total to 2,139.

There have been 59 coronavirus-related deaths in the county.

Of 36,062 tests taken by La Salle County residents, 5.93% have come back positive.

The Illinois Department of Public Health's ZIP code data's running totals since the start of the pandemic include:

• Streator, whose also is in Livingston County, at 433

• Ottawa at 369

• Mendota at 316

• La Salle at 217

• Peru at 189

• Marseilles at 133

• Oglesby at 83

• Sheridan at 76

• Somonauk, which also is in DeKalb County, at 51

• Utica at 42

• Seneca at 41

• Earlville at 34

• Leland at 28

• Grand Ridge at 26

• Wenona, which also is in Marshall County, at 22

• Tonica at 16

• Lostant at 13

• Millington, which also is in Kendall County, at 12

• Ransom at seven

• Cedar Point at seven

Loading more