Digital Access

Digital Access
Access and all Shaw Media Illinois content from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

News, features, sports, opinion and more!

Email Newsletters

Sign up for MyWebTimes email newsletters and stay in the know.

L-P names Wagenknecht scholars and recipients of Edward and Hilda Snow Scholarship

La Salle-Peru Township High School announced the recipients of the 2020 Wagenknecht Scholarships.

This year’s L-P recipients are Ashley Heagy, Colton Sittler, Matthew Robinson, Arisu Oya, Courtney Ries, Avary Kampwerth, Jacey Mertel and Rebecca Schmidt.

The Wagenknecht Scholarship was established in 1972 by the 1964 last will and testament of Frank C. Wagenknecht. The will established a trust to ensure “the income therefrom shall set up a scholarship for the student or students graduating each year from La Salle-Peru Township High School ... and attaining the highest scholastic grades in his or her class.” The scholarship award is used by the students to pay tuition and other expenses to the extent of $2,500 annually while attending a four-year course at a college or university of the student’s choice.

The first Wagenknecht Scholarships were given out in 1976. Since that time, 224 scholarships, totaling more than $2.24 million, have been granted to L-P graduates, not counting those given out this year.

Snow Scholarship

L-P also announced this year’s recipients of the Edward and Hilda Snow Scholarship: graduating seniors Paige Champlin and Rylan Dellinger.

The scholarship, valued at about $4,000 this year, was established by Anita (Goodman) Copeland in memory of her beloved grandparents. Copeland, who greatly valued education, was a 1944 L-P graduate. Upon graduation, Copeland attended La Salle-Peru-Oglesby Junior College (now IVCC). In 1949, she married Richard Copeland and the couple moved to Chicago, where she resided until 2002, at which time she returned to live in Peru. Copeland lived at Liberty Village until her death on April 29, 2018.

The scholarship is awarded to two L-P students based on plans to pursue higher education, ranking in the top 20 of the graduating class, having been accepted to a two- or four-year college full-time, demonstrating participation in school and community activities, having no major disciplinary offenses and submitting an application and essay.

Loading more