Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

News, features, sports, opinion and more!

Email Newsletters

Sign up for MyWebTimes email newsletters and stay in the know.

AREA ROUNDUP: TCC, I-8, Little 10 release all-conference teams

The Tri-County Conference released both its girls and boys basketball all-conference teams on Wednesday, while both the Interstate Eight Conference and Little Ten Conference announced the best girls hoops players in their respective leagues.
Four Lady Crusaders earn All-TCC honors
Marquette senior guard Anna Sypniewski was named to the Tri-County Conference First Team after averaging 14.8 points, 6.3 rebounds, 1.7 steals and 2.8 assists for the Lady Crusaders, who finished with 20 wins, won the TCC regular-season title with a perfect 6-0 mark and finished runner up at the league's tournament.
Senior point guard Emily Owens and classmate Maggie Hettel received Second Team nods. Owens averaged 12.0 points, 3.5 rebounds, 2.4 steals and 2.1 assists, while Hettel posted norms of 5.8 points, 5.0 rebounds and 1.4 blocks per outing. Junior forward Hannah Cowie was named to the Third Team after registering 5.7 points, 5.2 rebounds and 2.8 assists per game.
Trio of Lady Indians, pair of Lady Irish named All-Interstate Eight
The Sandwich Lady Indians earned three spots and the Seneca Lady Irish two on the 20-member I-8 All-Conference Team. Sandwich also had two players receive Special Mention along with one each from Seneca and Streator.
Sandwich junior Sarah Ness, sophomore Jaylynn Vana and freshman Josie Ness all were named all-conference, while seniors Ezbeydy Rivera and Nicole Shipman were Special Mention selections. Sarah Ness averaged 10.3 points, 6.0 rebounds, 2.4 assist and 5.5 steals for Sandwich, which was the I-8 regular-season co-champions at 10-1. Vana had averages of 7.5 points and 7.9 boards, while Josie Ness posted 7.6 points and 8.0 rebounds.
Seneca senior Lyda Robinson and junior Lexi Greve were First Team, while junior Abriana Jashari was Special Mention. Robinson led the Lady Irish with 11.3 points per game, while averaging 3.0 rebounds, 3.2 steals and 3.8 assists, while Greve had norms of 7.2 points, 4.6 rebounds and 1.1 blocks.
Streator freshman center Natali Haynes was a Special Mention pick after averaging 7.9 points, 8.1 rebounds and 1.8 blocks.
Seven locals named to LTC All-Conference team
Of the 10 members of the Little Ten All-Conference Team, seven were from Times-area schools, with Newark and Serena each earning two spots, with Earlville-Leland, Paw Paw and Somonauk each grabbing one.
The Lady Norsemen, the league's regular-season champs and tournament runners-up, had sophomores Meggie Scott and Jocelyn Mitchell receive unanimous selections. Scott, a repeat selection, averaged 12.7 points, 7.5 assists and 6.4 steals, while Mitchell had norms of 9.5 points, 4.9 rebounds and 2.3 steals.
The Lady Huskers had juniors Maddison Holdiman and Emily Hook selected to the team, the former a unanimous pick. Holdiman posted 12.6 points, 4.5 rebounds, 2.5 assists and 3.5 steals in league contests, while Hook averaged 8.4 points, 7.9 rebounds and 1.5 assists.
E-L senior Emily Cook, Paw Paw freshman Brooke Heiman and Somonauk junior Katie Boczko also earned All-LTC spots. Cook averaged 10.6 points, 5.5 rebounds and 3.0 assists; Heiman 17.1 points, 2.3 assists and 3.4 steals; and Boczko 11.1 points, 5.4 rebounds and 1.4 blocks. 
Boys basketball
Snook, Thumm, Voytko earn honors
Marquette junior guard Jack Snook was a unanimous selection to the Tri-County Conference First Team, while Crusaders junior center Chase Thumm and Woodland junior Kyle Voytko were named to the Third Team.

Loading more