Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

News, features, sports, opinion and more!

Email Newsletters

Sign up for MyWebTimes email newsletters and stay in the know.

Kessinger adds name to Ottawa mayor race

Ottawa, Marseilles see ballots over 10 names long

Two candidates for Ottawa mayor previously announced their candidacy, and a newcomer filed his name Monday – the deadline to file petitions for the April 2 election.

Ottawa Police Capt. Kenneth "Mike" Kessinger will be one of three candidates for mayor, alongside current Commissioner of Public Property Dan Aussem and former Ottawa Visitors Center Director Julie Johnson.

Aussem and Johnson submitted their petitions on the first day of filing on Dec. 10.

The election will be the first one in two decades without Mayor Bob Eschbach's name on the ballot as Eschbach announced he would not be seeking re-election.

Incumbent commissioners James Less, Wayne Eichelkraut Jr. and Tom Ganiere will be joined by six additional candidates vying for all four seats on the council.


• Dan Aussem, current commissioner.

• Kenneth "Mike" Kessinger.

• Julie Johnson.

Four-year council seats, four available.

• Tom Aussem.

• Brent Barron.

• Jason Callaway.

• Wayne Eichelkraut Jr., incumbent.

• Tom Ganiere, incumbent.

• Brad Hughes.

• James Less, incumbent.

• Gregg Olson

• Marla Rodriguez

• Matt Skelly


In Marseilles, voters will have an even lengthier ballot to sift through.

Four candidates will be running for the mayor position currently held by Jim Hollenbeck while 10 will be running for four spots on the city council.

Hollenbeck, a former councilman, was sworn in as mayor in January following the death of former Mayor Jim Trager to serve out the remainder of his term. Hollenbeck will run for re-election as mayor alongside Michelle Klock, Donald Sinclair and John Grooms.

All four current commissioners – Bobby Kaminski, Gary Lewey, Bob Davis, and Jim "Buck" Buckingham – will be running for re-election against a bevy of challengers.

The candidates will be listed on the ballot in the order they filed with Buckingham, Kaminski, Davis and newcomer Mary Oslanzi taking the top of the ballot.


• John Grooms.

• Jim Hollenbeck, incumbent.

• Michelle Klock.

• Donald Sinclair.

Four-year council seats, four available

• Jim "Buck" Buckingham, incumbent.

• Bob Davis, incumbent.

• Jay Delay.

• Kevin Fleming.

• James Floan.

• James Hanlon.

• Bobby Kaminski, incumbent.

• Eddie Kavanaugh.

• Gary Lewey, incumbent.

• Mary Oslanzi.

• Nathan Schaefer.


Voters in Utica received a clear vision of their future village board as three candidates are running for three vacant seats.

Incumbents Ron Pawlak and John Schweickert filed to retain their seats while newcomer Nathan D. Holland is running for the remaining third seat.

Current Trustee Joe Bernardoni is not seeking re-election. Bernardoni was a former trustee who returned to fill Village President David Stewart's seat in May 2017 when Stewart was elected as village president.

Four-year village trustee seats, three available

• Nathan D. Holland.

• Ron "RP" Pawlak, incumbent.

• John Schweickert, incumbent.


Seneca Mayor David Spicer is not seeking re-election but a couple commissioners, as well as a newcomer, are seeking the spot.

Current Commissioners Jeff Olson and Richard Applebee will run for election as mayor as will newcomer Ed Callahan.

The commissioners will be vacating their seats in order to run for mayor, which leaves four seats for the village council and only one incumbent running.

Commissioner Randy Timmons will run for re-election on the council while Commissioner Rick Barla will not seek re-election, leaving three seats for David Higgins, John Lamb and Frank Wiza.


• Richard Applebee, current commissioner.

• Ed Callahan.

• Jeff Olson, current commissioner.

Four-year council seats, four available

• David Higgins.

• John Lamb.

• Randy Timmons, incumbent.

• Frank Wiza.


A couple of commissioners have decided to not run for re-election in Sheridan, leaving an opportunity for some.

Incumbents Larry Rig and John Walker are not seeking re-election, but incumbent Krysta Olson will run for re-election. Olson will be running alongside four newcomers while incumbent Judy Hinterlong is the sole candidate for a two-year seat.

Hinterlong was first placed on the council to fill Randy McMurray's seat after he resigned about a month ago.

Two-year council seats, one available

• Judy Hinterlong, incumbent.

Four-year council seats, three available

• Michael Mott

• Krysta Olson, incumbent.

• James Skalic

• Margaret Strothman

• Joseph "Jay" Waldvogel Jr.

Loading more