Digital Access

Digital Access
Access and all Shaw Media Illinois content from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

News, features, sports, opinion and more!

Email Newsletters

Sign up for MyWebTimes email newsletters and stay in the know.
In observance of the Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday, The Times newspaper will not be published January 20. Breaking news and information will be updated on

Banquet honors youths in agriculture

La Salle County livestock winners announced

The La Salle County Stockman’s Harvest Rewards Banquet was Nov. 20 at Senica’s Oak Ridge. The event was established to honor La Salle County’s outstanding young people who raise and show breeding livestock.

Recognized guests were David Isermann, La Salle County Farm Bureau president; Kayla Kiefer, Farm Bureau manager; and Karol Hindle, La Salle County’s Ag in the Classroom coordinator.

Grand and Reserve Champion Market winners from the 2018 La Salle County Junior Fair were honored, followed by a live auction to sell their champion market animals.

Grand Champion Market Animal winners include: Tom Durdan, beef steer and barrow; Karly Reel, lamb; Hueston Wilson, pen of chickens; Ella Robson, goat; and Lauren McNelis, dairy.

Reserve Grand Champion Market Animal winners include: Teresa Dittmer, beef steer; Kendall Nelson, barrow; Jessica Reel, lamb; and Ethan Robson, goat.

Rate of Gain Steer
was awarded to Dalton Walter.

The Win-A-Show-Animalessay contest winners were announced by Dan Lukach. An animal from beef, swine, goat and sheep breeds are donated and given to the winner. The animals will be shown in July 2019 at the La Salle County Junior Fair. Winners and prize donors are: Beef winner, Sophia Pyszka, donated by Goodbred Family Farms, Tonica; swine winner, Audra Marincic, donated by Duffield Family, Marseilles; sheep winner, Leah Reed, donated by Hastings Farm-Suffolks, Ottawa; and goat winner, Tate Sundberg, donated by Rockwood Farms, Earlville.

Grand Champion Breeding Animals winners include: heifer, Dalton Walter; gilt purebred and gilt x-bred, Carter Meyer; ram, Tyler Angus; ewe, Karly Reel; and doe goat, Hueston Wilson.

Reserve Grand Champion Breeding Animals winners include: heifer, Kendall Nelson; gilt purebred, Carter Meyer; gilt x-bred, Kendall Nelson; ram, Kameron Hastings; ewe, Jessica Reel; and doe goat, Hueston Wilson.

Showmanship winnerswere announced and honored in theJunior, Intermediate and Senior divisions of each animal breed. In the Beef category, Junior Showman, Emmett Liberg; Beef Intermediate, Nolan Lukach; Senior Beef, Dalton Walter. In the Swine category, Junior Showman, Carter Meyer; Swine Intermediate, Ryder Baxter; and Swine Senior, Katie Corcoran. In the Goat category, Junior Showman, Hannah Mann; Goat Intermediate Showman, Ella Robson; and Senior Sheep Showman, Hueston Wilson. In Sheep Showmanship, Junior Showman, Karly Reel; and Senior Showman, Nick Angus. In Dairy Showmanship, Junior Showman, Hannah McNelis; and Senior Showman, Keegan Boldt. The Master Showmanship winner was Jacob Black, Grand Ridge.

La Salle County Stockman awarded three $1,000 scholarships. Presented by David Isermann, the scholarships were awarded to Cally Diss, Grand Ridge, who is attending Joliet Junior College; Lillian Hladovcak, Grand Ridge, who is attending Illinois State University; and Miriam Hoffman, Earlville, who is serving as Illinois State FFA secretary and will be attending Illinois Valley Community College in fall 2019.

NewLifetime Memberships were announced — they are Matt Mason, Ryan Holman, Mike Pyzka Jr. and the IVCC Agriculture Department.

Jacob Chapman presented the 2018 Stockman of the Year award to Floyd and Annette Crane, from Dimmick Township. Having grown up in the cattle and dairy industries, they have devoted countless hours in helping youths in all breeds of the livestock industry across the county, state and country. Raising registered Hereford cattle and serving as 4-H leaders, they spent over 10 years as Illinois Hereford Junior Association advisers.

Loading more