Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

News, features, sports, opinion and more!

Email Newsletters

Sign up for MyWebTimes email newsletters and stay in the know.

Streator High co-op banquet honors students, employers

The annual Streator High School Tech Prep/CWT/STEP work program banquet was May 2 at the high school Commons. Employers, students and parents were honored, with seven students receiving Outstanding Student awards and one receiving the Ben Newtown Award presented by Shaw Appliance.

Outstanding student awards were presented to the following students: Jesse Cashmer, Aubrey Durdan, Maya Durdan, Molli Kmetz, Adriann Miller, Hannah Schaumberg and Madison Wachowski. The awards were based on work performance, classroom performance, positive attitude, remaining current with class work and excellent workplace evaluations.

Chris Peterson, program director, offered words of welcome. Wachowski gave the opening and closing remarks. Students speaking about their co-op work experiences were Hannah Nevin, Miami Danko, Wachowski, Jessica Gregory and Aireon Ramson. Wachowski, Schaumberg and Alexia Eutsey were leaders of the event conducting employer recognitions.

Shaw Appliance staff members Kathy and Christy Losey presented the Ben Newton Award to Adriann Miller. The award is given in memory of Ben Newtown, a Streator High student who died in a car accident during the 2014-15 school year. Newton was a member of the Tech Prep/CWT/STEP program and worked at Shaw Appliance during his work training portion of the program. His father, Chuck Newton, was there for the presentation.

The Tech Prep/CWT/STEP Program is directed by Peterson. All employers were awarded a plaque from their student learner as a token of appreciation and remembrance of the work program. The students work and train at local businesses for class credit.

Officers for the 2017-18 school year are president, Wachowski; vice president, Hannah Schaumberg; co-secretaries, Maya Durdan and Hannah Nevin; and treasurer, Alexia Eutsey. Social Committee members were Adriann Miller, Maria Shroyer and Miami Danko.

Participating businesses for Tech Prep/CWT/STEP included Athletico Physical Therapy, Big R Store of Streator, Bill Walsh of Streator, Chix, Country Financial-Joe Starkey, Countryside Animal Clinic, Defenbaugh Farms, Donahue Auto Repair, Fairway Body Shop, Flowers Plus, Heritage Health, KSR Equipment, Luckey Trucking, McDonald’s of Streator, NAPA Auto Parts, OSF Center for Health, Parker Nursing and Rehabilitation, St. Michael School, SCI Corporation, Shaw Appliance, Stertil ALM, Streator Cash Express, Streator Elementary School District, SHS Grab N Go, SHS Guidance Department, SHS Technology Department, SHS Traveling Maintenance Crew, Talty Polaris, The Eastwood Golf Course, Transco Products and YMCA of Streator.

Students participating in the Tech Prep/CWT/STEP Work Program were Cody Ainsley, Mallory Aukland, Carsyn Bacha, Jennifer Barrera, Maggie Blair, Morgan Brust, Christopher Bruzek, Jesse Cashmer, Sophia Castillo, Robert Cervantez, Cecilia Cipriano, Wilson Copeland, Caylin Covington, Maurice Cunningham, Miami Danko, Austin Davis, Ashlyn Drysdale, Aubrey Durdan, Maya Durdan, Alexia Eutsey, Caleb Ferrell, Caleb Gallup, Kiegan Gelsthorpe, Caleb Goldsmith, Coltin Grace, Jessica Gregory, Doria Kibby-Smith, Molli Kmetz, Taylor Koncor, Hunter Lehmkuhl, Kaylee Martin, Adriann Miller, Caitlyn Morgan, Hannah Nevin, Max O’Brien, Estefany Padilla, Gabe Perez, Jacob Posey, Aireon Ramson, Collin Reihl, Alyssa Rizzo, Jace Rodriguez, Hannah Schaumberg, Kyle Schmitt, Maria Shroyer, Max Starkey, Christine Steele, Ali Talty, Hunter Telford, Imari Underwood, Madison Wachowski, Zomnyet Webster and Dawid Worwa.

Loading more