Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

News, features, sports, opinion and more!

Email Newsletters

Sign up for MyWebTimes email newsletters and stay in the know.
Local Sports

Gossett, Hansen named Ottawa Bowlers of the Year

Ottawa's 13th annual USBC Bowler of the Year Banquet was held Saturday, May 5, at Shore Line Boat Club.

This year’s Ottawa's USBC Bowler of the Year honors went to Lacey Hansen and Billy Gossett.

Lacey Hansen bowls on Alley Cats League for the second season in Ottawa, she had a great year with 34-200 plus games, a 266 high game and 11 600-plus series with a 693 high series, and raising her average 16 pins from 187 to a 203. Lacey earned herself the top spot on the Women's All-Star Team.

Billy Gossett bowls Monday Mechanics League and Pinheadz Alley Cats . Billy bowledconsistently well this year, shooting six 700 series or better with a high series of 766 and 36 200-plus games with a 296 high game, raising his average from 210 to 221 and earning Billy Gossett the prestigious award.

2018 Outstanding Achievement Award Youth Bowling went to Emily Davidson and Adam Brown from Dettores Town Lanes and Robbie Burke and Lucas Day From Pinheadz.

2018 Ottawa USBC Scholarship winner was Emma Lieser. Some of Emma's achievements included being in the bowling program for four years, where she was captain of her team. She qualified for sectionals three out of four years. Emma became the first lady bowler in team history to become all-conference this year. She is also part of National Honors Society at OHS, maintaining a strong GPA of 3.667 and is ranked 65th in her class of 358 students.

The first inductee to 2018 Ottawa USBC Hall of Fame is Krista Schinzel. Krista started bowling 20-plus years ago. Krista bowled in several leagues and ladies inter-city over the years at all three houses and accumulated several 200 games and 600 series with a high average in the 170s. She has participated in city tournaments, placing numerous times in team events, doubles and singles, as well as making several all-star teams over the years. Krista served as a board member for several years and volunteered to work the Ottawa Riverfest.

The second inductee into Ottawa USBC Hall of Fame is Peggy Pool. Peggy bowled for 20 plus years in the Ottawa Women's Association and decided to retire a few years ago. She held a 150 average and kept her sense of humor even when the pins weren't falling. Peggy bowled in the Women’s City Tournament and volunteered to work Riverfest.

The third inductee is Jeff Schinzel. Jeff has bowled several leagues over his 20-plus years. In addition to participating in all the city tournaments and state tournaments, he's been an Association Officer & Board of Director, worked Riverfest in the past and made all-stars numerous times.

Special Recognition Awards: Carlos Martinez 300 game 3-800 series, Wayne Hanlon 300,Matt DeMoss 300, Keith McAlpine 300, Scott Weber 300 and Jim Hallam 300 game.

2018 Humanitarian Award went to Jean Clowers. Jean is always there to congratulate someone on a great frame or game, even if they're on the opposing team. She is always friendly, fun to be around and willing to help in any way she can. As an added bonus, she sometimes brings treats for everyone.

The 2018 C.L.Erwin Humanitarian Award was presented to Billy McGeorge. Billy has bowled in Ottawa in the past 20-plus years, coaches youth league Saturday mornings for past 10 years, is president of Alley Cats League and works Riverfest ever year. He always encourages his fellow bowlers to do good , has a good attitude and is a true asset in ever aspect to the sport.

2018 Ottawa USBC Women's All Stars Team: Lacey Hansen, Laura Rockford, Cathy Koch,and Kathy Long. Bravo Team: Lexi Lawry, Eva Gray, Babette Alonzo and Helen Wiegmann . Classic Team: Fawn McGeorge, Carly Harsted, Sandra VanMill and Kapitola VanMill. Determined Team: Angela Shields, Sherry Boyd, Polly Neumann and Ashley Hanson.

2018 Ottawa USBC Men's All Stars Team: Major l: Carlos Martinez, Jim Hallam, Scott Weber, Wayne Hanlon, Billy Gossett and Matt DeMoss. Major II: Jim Nichol, Ray Hansen Jr, Jason Gossett, Ron Koch and Steve Smith. Classic: Josh Harsted, Bill McGeorge Sr, Jack Thomas, Cody Hughes and Chris Habben. Booster: Michael Affrunti, Jerry Gossett, Denny Dwyer, Jim Sibert and Jim Mathias.

2018 Outstanding Achievement Awards: Carlos Martinez 300 game 3-800 series, Wayne Hanlon 300,Matt DeMoss 300, Keith McAlpine 300, Scott Weber 300 and Jim Hallam 300 game.

Loading more