Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

News, features, sports, opinion and more!

Email Newsletters

Sign up for MyWebTimes email newsletters and stay in the know.
Local Sports

Hetelle, Harris, Thompson make Marseilles Hall of Fame

MARSEILLES —The Marseilles Bowling Association’s annual Hall of Fame Banquet was held at the Lions Hall on Saturday night.

The highlights of the banquet included Marilyn Gabehart receiving the 2018 Women’s Bowler of the year Award. Some of Marilyn’s accomplishments included 24 games over average, three 200-plus games and nine 25-plus pins over her average. Marilyn and Glenda Thompson won doubles in the city tournament this year.

Steve Smith received the 2018 Men’s Bowler of the Year Award. Some of Steve’s accomplishments included a 279 high game and a 739 high series. He has been bowling in Thursday Night Boosters for a few years and increasing his average seven pins to 196 this winter.

Bowler of the Year photos for both Marseilles and Streator appeared in Monday’s edition of The Times.

Men’s Hall of Fame inductees were Craig Hetelle with 35 years and Jim harris with 25 years of accomplishments. 

Women’s Hall of Fame inductee honors went to Glenda Thompson. Glenda’s bowled 20-plus years, participated in state tournaments and cashed out on many city tournaments, and also served as a member on the board of directors the past three years.

Women’s city tournament winners: Team Event went to Lite Girls (Pat Bailey, Babette Alonzo, Sue Frye) with 1,891; Doubles were Marilyn Gabehart and Glenda Thompson with a 1,321; Singles was Michelle Edwards with a 714; All-Events Handicap was Sharon Brandt with a 1,936; and All-Events Scratch was Sharon Brandt with a 1,585.

Men’s city tournament winners: Team Event was Johnson Farms (Larry Jasonowicz, Chad Hopper, Josh Schmitke, Craig Hetelle, Tim Frederick) with a 3,572; Doubles were Norm Beckett and Jim Harris with a 1,523; Singles was Bill Medler at 878; All-Events Handicap was Bill Medler at 2,295; and All-Events Scratch was Todd Lane with his 1,916.

All-star teams included: Men’s “A” - Brett Frye, Bernie Downey, Duane Berkland, Steve Smith, Paul Zenicek; Men’s “B” - Len Thomas, Charles Simmons, Steve Combs, Tim Frederick, Matt Demoss; Women’s “A” - Joyce Thomas, Annie Norsen, Sue Hetelle; and Women’s “B” - Kathy Long, Sharon Brandt, Megan Adams.

The Outstanding Achievement Award for 300 games went to Todd Lane, and the 2018 President’s Award to Brett Frye for his 204 average.

Loading more