Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

News, features, sports, opinion and more!

Email Newsletters

Sign up for MyWebTimes email newsletters and stay in the know.

Ottawa students perform true story of Nazi camp

Students present 'I Never Saw Another Butterfly'

Ottawa High School students will perform the true and powerful story of the children of the Terezin concentration camp.

"I Never Saw Another Butterfly" is scheduled for 7 p.m. Friday, April 27, and Saturday, April 28, in the school's auditorium.

Even in the oppressive and dangerous environment of a Nazi camp, these children wrote poetry and created artwork, drama instructor Sue Williamson said of the play. The poems and paintings were then hidden from the Nazis until after the war.

Then Raja Englanderova, one of the young Jewish prisoners, played by Ottawa High student Cassie Klein, returned to bring these treausres to the world.

Students will perform her story.

"The play uses slides of the original paintings, as well as performances of the poetry," Williamson said.

Student performers include Connor Dewalt, Sydney Johnson, Emily Schaibley, Angelica Briones, Bailey Banks, Christian Close, Cassie Klein, Grace Lowe, Logan Andreoni, Madison Vath, Cori Lindig, Sera Bennet, Avery Timmons, Kailey Capp, Corine Francis, Joey Trupiano, Gabe Nye, Lexi Pries and Gauge Smith.

Chorus members are Logan Andreoni, Ryan Besset, Connor Dewalt, Lexi Chadwick, Sydney Johnson, Kiley Keisler, Grace Lowe, Katlyn Miner, Lexi Pries, Emily Schaibley, Mallory Grace Sobkowich, Nick Taylor, Saffron Jade Walter, Anne Wheaton and Makenzie Wilson.

Playing children are Sami Bennet, Corine Francis, Gabriel Marini, Taylor Miner, Gabe Nye, Arabella Spampanato and Mike Spampanato.

Artwork shadow dancers are Angelica Briones, Lexi Chadwick, Christian Close, Kiley Keisler, Grace Lowe, Katlyn Miner, Taylor Miner, Mallory Grace Sobkowich and Anne Wheaton.

Guitar music is by Anna Salz.

The crew includes student directors Tricia Hanson and Makaia Decker as well as Aoibheann Williams, Brent Sancken, Cory Boe, Haley Roalson, Brad Johnson, Katie Clarke, Jack Ainsworth, Ryan Bessett, Megan Saar, Nick Taylor, Nick Underhill, Leah Klatt, Kiley Corrigan, Claire Dewalt, Samantha Everett, Rebekah Leger, Mollie McQuillein, Jakob Kretzmer, Sally Taliani and Morgan Thomas. Tickets will be handled by John Alexander and house manager/usher is Riley Boehler.

Set construction is by Pete Sutton, Josh Taliani, John Taliani, Hunter Sutton and Jack Ainsworth.

Loading more