Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

News, features, sports, opinion and more!

Email Newsletters

Sign up for MyWebTimes email newsletters and stay in the know.

2 LASCO zoning vacancies, other positions, filled

Two of the three resignation vacancies on the La Salle County Zoning Board of Appeals were filled by the County Board.

Alternate zoning board members Debra Lane and Fred Seville were appointed to fill the terms, respectively, of Larry Bianchi and Arratta Znaniecki. Still to be replaced is Tom Bruch.

Bianchi and Bruch said they were upset with how county board members handled zoning matters, overruling the zoning boarding on many of its decisions.

The county board also reappointed county board of review members Ben Dolder, Kathy Watts and Joe McConville to new two-year terms with annual salaries of $9,500.

The board of review determines whether property has been correctly assessed for taxation purposes. It hears and rules on appeals of property assessment.

An owner who disagrees with the board’s decision can appeal it to the state’s property tax appeal board.

Other appointments included Lois Guyon to the county’s 708 Mental Health Board, Jacob Chapman to the Seneca Fire Protection and Ambulance District board; and the reappointments of Allen Fane to the Earlville Community Fire Protection District, Michael Pfau to the Serena Fire Protection District board and Dennis O’Connell and Bradley Meyer to the Somonauk Community Fire Protection District board.

Loading more