Home Delivery

News, features, sports, opinion and more!

Email Newsletters

Sign up for MyWebTimes email newsletters and stay in the know.



The April 3 meeting of the American Association of University Women was at Sunfield Restaurant in Ottawa with 13 members and three guests attending, including Carolyn Schjelderup, AAUW District 3 director. Hostesses were Mary Ann Carroll and Erin Wold.

President Olivia Romine called the meeting to order. Guest speaker was Laura DeBolt, a volunteer for Illinois ERA NOW. She spoke about the need to support the passage of ERA in Illinois.

Barb Mueller gave a report from the scholarship committee. There were 22 applications received. Three scholarships will be awarded at the May meeting to young women from La Salle County. June Steder gave a report on the annual book sale, which will take place during Riverfest.

A slate of officers for 2018-2019 were nominated and elected. The AAUW state convention will be June 14-17 in Lisle. The next meeting will be a catered meal at 6 p.m. Tuesday, May 1, at the Ottawa Historical and Scouting Heritage Museum. Hostesses will be Lorraine McCallister and Mueller. Guests will be scholarship recipients and their parents.

Loading more