Home Delivery

News, features, sports, opinion and more!

Email Newsletters

Sign up for MyWebTimes email newsletters and stay in the know.

Seneca gives donation to help with Shipyard Days

Village Board issues reminder about burn ordinance

The Seneca Village Board will give $3,000 toward the annual Shipyard Days festival.
The Seneca Village Board will give $3,000 toward the annual Shipyard Days festival.

The Seneca Village Council approved a $3,000 donation to the Seneca Festival Commission for the annual four-day Seneca Shipyard Days scheduled from Wednesday, June 20 to Saturday, June 23. The donation will be paid from the village's video gaming fund.

“I've been told that if the commission doesn't need the money, they won't actually be asking for it,” said Mayor David Spicer. “Money-wise, I think they're concerned about getting enough donations to cover the fireworks display that is really fantastic. We really owe a big thanks to this commission, because they work very hard for no monetary compensation.”

Burn ordinance reminder

Public Health and Safety Commissioner Rich Applebee said the village has a burning ordinance. Residents can burn leaves, twigs and grass all year but there are two specified burn times.

Yard waste cannot be burned unless it is first raked into piles of a reasonable size. Nothing is allowed to be burned on any street or alley within village limits. Every fire must have a person in attendance.

The burn times between April 15 and Nov. 15 are 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays. From Nov. 15 to April 15, the hours are 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays.

Clean-up Days

Seneca's residents will be able to clean up their homes during the village's annual Clean-up Days from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Friday, June 1, and 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. Saturday, June 2 at Olson's Auto/Scrap Metal Recycling, 354 W. Jackson St.

“Commissioner (Jim) Olson has agreed to do this again this year at his site,” Spicer said. “And like last year, if there is a need to stay open a little longer. Saturday hours may be extended.”

Plan Commission vacancy and re-appointment
Jackie Brewster, a member of the Plan Commission since it's inception many years ago, has offered her resignation, effective immediately. Brewster's term is set to expire in 2020. The commission is a seven-member board.

“I have learned a lot through the years and I have enjoyed being a part of the planning committee, but with my health issues and demands of the greenhouse, I feel that someone else could be more effective.” Brewster wrote in her resignation letter. “Thank you for letting me serve this community for so many years.”

Plan Commission board members include Tom Justice, Jeff Lamb, Tyler Shanks, Diane Till, Kathleen Haralson and Matt Peterson.

“We owe her a big gratitude of thanks for all the years she has put into the Plan Commission,” Spicer said. “If anyone is interested in being appointed to the commission, contact City Hall at 815-357-8771."

The board re-appointed Tom Justice to the Plan Commission. His term will expire in April 2023.

Park Board reappointments

The council approved Park Board reappointments of Patty Newberry and J.D. Mott. Both of their terms will expire in May of 2022.

The board consists of seven members: Fran Kasten, Patty Newberry, J.D. Mott, Neil Sandberg, Coleen O'Neill, Dan Stecken and Les Goslin.

Loading more